Posted by alissa_dawn at 1cust227.tnt1.seattle2.wa.da.uu.net on August 31, 2001 at 03:10:22:
In Reply to: jayandsilentbob.com -JSBSB & Smith Hate Site posted by MAllrTT on August 31, 2001 at 02:59:57:
...before posting? This has been talked about like 20 times in the past 2 days. No offense to you, yourself...I'm just speaking generally. But people just need to read the board a little bit before posting....
: I've seen a few messages about a site -jayandsilentbob.com- so i checked it out...i was kinda pissed at first...then i realized that this is probably just a joke put up by Kevin Smith and decided to just let it go. But being my cynical-self...I decided to do some research to make sure. Heres what I've found out:
: The 3 alleged hate sites in question: "jayandsilentbobstrikeback.com," "jayandsilentbob.com" and "bluntmanandchronic.com"
: I'm about 95% sure that the sites are a joke.
: Proof: The sites are registered to ViewAskew.com...they also have the same server IP addresses (206.43.192.76)(206.197.81.10) as viewaskew.com - which are also the same IP addresses as newsaskew.com....all of the links on the site link back to viewaskew or newsaskew.com -
: And to top it all off - all of the info on the site doesn't check out either - an authentic looking C&D letter from a reputable sounding lawfirm telling the owner that if he doesnt shutdown he will face legal action is very convincing - except for the fact that the lawfirm doesn't actually exist. If Kevin set up the site...then good job...thats pretty damn funny.
: -If you haven't seen the site...go check it out...tell the guy how much his site sucks or whatever you think.
: If I'm completely wrong about any of this and it isn't a joke...please let me know so that I can bang my head against my desk for wasting my time and yours.
: -MallraTT